Studio L is a wide-ranging group of students and friends Leslie Laskey, Professor Emeritus at the College of Architecture at Washington University in St. Louis.

Studio L seeks to foster and continue his teaching ethic.

Studio L sponsors and manages the Laskey Fund, an endowment fund at Washington University which supports the annual Laskey Award. Through a variety of formats, the award is presented to encourage the same creative problem-solving that Leslie taught in his 35 years at Washington University.

This website, launched in 2013, is more than just a way to stay up to date about the Laskey Award and Studio L. It is a forum and a record of Leslie Laskey’s powerful influence on legions of students and colleagues. What better way to show how Leslie has affected us all than by sharing our work, recording our thoughts, and challenging each other to continue exploring?

The pages Are You Drawing?, What Are You Reading?, and Where Have You Been? are styled after questions Leslie asks all his friends regularly. You can find recent work, suggestions of things to read, places to visit…all posted by Studio L members. Eventually, as more and more members post, these pages will exhibit the richness and breadth of our varied experiences.

Studio L is open to any former student, friend, or supporter of Leslie Laskey. Visit the Contact page to find out how to join.

Studio L’s Current Board
  • Angelyn Chandler – President
  • Dennis Cope – Washington University Liaison, Treasurer
  • Warren Ashworth – Secretary
  • John Kleinschmidt – Web Editor and Co-Editor of Studio L publications
Committee Members
  • Richard Rothman – Co-Editor of Studio L Publications
  • Jim Olvera – Photographer

History of Studio L

In the summer of 2005, a small group of former students of Leslie Laskey began exploring the idea of establishing an endowment fund for the purpose of honoring Professor Laskey. In November 2005, at a reception for Leslie hosted by Geoff Prentiss in Seattle, the idea made its first public appearance and initial pledges began the fund in earnest. A group of seven former students developed a program and in September 2006 formally established the fund at the University. On September 30, 2006 at an event in St. Louis, the founding group officially announced the Fund and the Laskey Award to a gathering of over one hundred of Leslie’s friends. This first formal fund-raiser generated $25,000. Since then additional pledges and contributions have brought the fund’s current endowment to a sustainable level that will support an annual award of up to $5,000.

Past Board Members
  • Werner Maassen
  • Megan Riera
  • David Schraer
  • Alison Snyder
  • Danny Porta
  • Lois Porta
  • Geoff Prentiss
  • Jim Olvera
  • Elva Rubio